Douglas Adams: So Long and Thanks for all the Fish
Douglas Adams jpoc reviews books by Douglas Adams
Science Fiction jpoc reviews sf books
Book Reviews jpoc book reviews
Home See what else is on this site
You can buy this novel on its own from cover
But it's better to get the omnibus edition cover
Seven out of ten.
If you are interested in this, I suggest that you buy the omnibus edition which contains all of the five main novels plus (in the non-UK editions) a bonus short story.
This is the fourth book in the Hitch-Hiker's quintet and as with the third book, it is set after the Radio series and concentrates mostly on what happens after Arthur Dent manages to return to the Earth. The Earth to which he returns is subtly different from the one that he left but Arthur is happy enough with this. (Another idea that originally appeared in a Robert Sheckley novel.)

Once he is back on Earth, Arthur finds love with Fenchurch, one of a tiny number of people who seem to realise that the Earth has changed from the one that the Vogons came to destroy.

Personally, I rate this as the best of the series. It has all of Adams' customary humour and also adds real depth to the characters and gives the readers something to get involved with that goes beyond the wacky plots and jokes.