Douglas Adams: Life the Universe and Everything
Douglas Adams jpoc reviews books by Douglas Adams
Science Fiction jpoc reviews sf books
Book Reviews jpoc book reviews
Home See what else is on this site
You can buy this novel on its own from cover
But it's better to get the omnibus edition cover
Six out of ten.
If you are interested in this, I suggest that you buy the omnibus edition which contains all of the five main novels plus (in the non-UK editions) a bonus short story.
This is the third book in the Hitch-Hiker's quintet and it is the first one that deals with events beyond those in the radio series. The main story line in this book is that an ancient race, evil beyond imagining and incarcerated in a time bubble after they were thwarted in their desire to destroy the entire universe are about to be set free again to continue in their mission of destruction.

Arthur Dent, Ford Prefect and Slarty Bartfast set off, first to prevent the release of the prisoners and then they must attempt to stop them from pursuing further destruction.

It's a good read. Douglas Adams changes the structure from the earlier books' attempts to at least approximate to the radio shows into something that works much better as a novel. The wit and jokes are still there and they are improved by the better flow of this book.

The only problem is that, to get the most out of this volume, you need to have read the two earlier members of the series and they are not as good.